Color of the Year for 2015

Written by Carrie Lehmann, Owner – CL Interiors, LLC

So the New Year has officially begun.  I’m sure a lot of you are making your resolution lists (hopefully not pages long) and deciding what changes to make in your life.  Typically, you decide to change your eating habits, try out that new Barre class at your gym, finally organize the basement, or simply resolve to be a better person.  These are all great ideas for improving your life, lowering your stress level, and creating a better “you.”  I, myself am guilty of all of the above.  However, I am thinking outside the box this year…making changes within myself, but also in my surroundings.  Interior Design is all about creating a space that is uniquely you.  And with the high stress levels that elevated during the holidays, I’m all about a creating a stress-free zone.

Nursery shelf

So what does this all have to do with the Color of the Year for 2015 from Sherwin Williams you might ask yourself?  Sherwin Williams Color of the Year is called Coral Reef.  It’s simply put, the perfect shade of coral.

sherwin williams coral

Coral Reef is more citrusy than a peach hue; it’s brighter than a pale pink; and slightly darker in shade than Salmon. (Like I said, the perfect shade of Coral).  This color is happy, bright, cheerful, and all at the same time calming.  When designing my daughter’s nursery, I knew right away that I wanted to use grey as the primary hue and coral as an accent.  So I whipped out my paint fan decks from various manufacturers and got to work on selecting the perfect shades of grey and coral.  Keep in mind, this was back in April 2014 when my search began.  The two colors I (finally) decided on were both incidentally Sherwin Williams colors.  My perfect grey was Light French Grey.  My perfect coral was Coral Reef.  Voila: the quintessential color combination for my darling daughter-to-be.  I was so pleased with how the nursery turned out from the materials, fabric patterns, and small little details that all began with coral and grey.

I hope you will enjoy visiting my website at http://www.cl-interiors.com/cl-interiors-portfolio.html to see pics of the final project (or check it out at http://www.houzz.com/projects/620491/girls-nursery) and see how I incorporated what is now known as Sherwin Williams Color of the Year 2015.

If you’d like to see more color combinations paired with Coral Reef, please LIKE this article on Facebook and I’ll expand on it with more ideas and examples of how you can incorporate it into your own project.

Leave a comment